Skip to content

Cultural Concubine Blog

Neither here nor there…

Off course you knew that Forever tastes of Vanilla!

Off course it has been too long.
(mea culpa, mea culpa, forgive me readers for I have lived… it has been how many days since my last post? Good God! etc etc)

After my initial impressions regarding seafood, portions and airco, I can honestly say I have thrown myself fully into American life: hook, line and sinker.
So let me quickly catch you up on what you missed:

From July till October I had my first bout of the States…
And well, now on my second I have only been back for 6 days.

In this short time I have already visited Boston-Cambridge-Boston-Providence-Boston-Providence-Newport.  (Next week will be Newport-Cambridge-Boston-NewYork-Boston-Cambridge. )
Within these last six days I have had many new experiences regarding American public transport. (all of this will be reported shortly…)

It is getting harder to write in the same British inspired way of understatement and sarcasm as I have encountered to little of that around me here.
And to be frank… how the **** am I supposed to keep up with that traveling schedule?

By now I have flown to the States three times. And over time I remember feeling distinctly different during the three flights:

Three time's the charm...

The first time I just flew over in a daze, excited and mostly ignorant about what would await me at the other side. Bright eyed and pro-active Freddie, wagging her tail.

The second time I was more hesitant. I had already crushed many of my wrong assumptions and had become slightly weary of what I would get wrong this time. So instead of the initial enthusiasm I had become more passive and observing. Slightly quiet Freddie with one raised eyebrow.

But now, the third time I flew over with a clear plan and purpose. Freddie ready to pounce. (luckily I did, otherwise the grumpy immigration guard would have sent me home. It cost me 30 minutes in a painful interview and talking for my life, like a hairdresser who had just botched up someones new do…)

My plan for the coming months:
1. Sort out the VISA stuff.
2. Find/secure a job. (there is some stuff in the pipeline, but I don’t want to Jinx anything yet)
3. Get a car.
4. Do a course
5. Write a book
6. Write my blog

This is just a simple outline and off course all three of these are interdependent.
No problem… easy peasy. Right?

It’s  good to be back!
Love,
F.

