Skip to content

Cultural Concubine Blog

Neither here nor there…

Who are you?

The feeling had been coming on over the last few days…
There is something distinctly different here but I dont know what exactly.

It took me a while, but then yesterday morning all of a sudden I got it!

Birdsong…

I woke up with the sound of something I really had no clue about what it could be.
Somewhere between a chainsaw and a strangled parrot… Had I woken up in the Rain forest in South America?!

Off course every bird has its own song. (see the Audubon Society) But waking up in a foreign choir is quite an experience.
There wasn’t too much of a difference between the Netherlands and London… In Europe I can tell the difference between a blackbird and a magpie, but the things I hear from the trees over here is truly exotic.

So my note to self: pick up a guide of local birds and start learning their chirps and tremors… And off course see if you can spot them while they are at it. 🙂

Secondly, once I get my iPhone/iPad next week I can download the song bird app at: BirdJAM

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

