Skip to content

Cultural Concubine Blog

Neither here nor there…

Hats the British way: less is boring...

After Ascot week an her famous Ladies Day, I really have to mention another great British tradition:

Millinery…

Even if I do not fully agree with all of the UK aesthetics regarding head wear (especially the colours and amounts of fluff involved) I do have to take my hat off to the sheer quality and variety available.

So on a sunny day, the nine best hatters I have found in London:

Hands up! according to Treacy

Designers:

  • Philip Treacy, absolutely no 1 when it comes to getting the latest designs… Just ask Carrie from SATC…
  • Stephen Jones, get hip with the new kids of fashion… But really some of the most exquisite designs I have ever seen…
  • Marie Mercie French but still, especially known for her cat’s hat and use of italian straw in a variation of colours…
  • Gabriela Ligenza , My all time favourite, just off Sloane Street but by far the most sophisticated and understated hats of the most exquisite quality… (in case you ever thought of getting me a present, please remember this one on my forever wish list)

My favourite hat box: Gabriela Ligenza

And some more ‘locals’:

Ol’ School for the ol’ Boys:

If you feel particularly creative you can off course make your own.

  • VVRouleaux, one of London’s real treasures… Any trim or ribbon imaginable can be found here. And more! I have only been away from London for a week and already I miss this little treasure trove off Sloane Square…
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

