Skip to content

Cultural Concubine Blog

Neither here nor there…

Brass under the Board...

Today I have been traveling and on my way home from Bristol I found myself happily surprised…

Smack in the middle of Paddington Station was a full blown Brass & Woodwind Band!

After some inspection I found out this is a regular occurance, brought to all travelers by ‘The Great Western Railway Paddington Band

The band started in the ’20s as the railways company band and has been going since.

Their music is still perky and pretty good, playing little swinging foxtrots and quicksteps on the way home before the Bank holiday weekend…

Brass on Rails...

But it was the acoustics that really turned the event into a feast…
Paddington’s enormous Brunel Dome perfectly amplifies the sound and gives it an almost ghostlike floaty delay…Brilliant for Brass and Woodwind…

They play every Friday between 19.30 and 21.00 between Easter and Christmas.

There is just something distinctly civilised about traveling home with a swing in your step.

Only in Britain…

Next time I will bring a partner… Grin.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

