Skip to content

Cultural Concubine Blog

Neither here nor there…

Summer in a Glass...

After such a radiant weekend, there really is only one British institution I can write about…

PIMMS.

I think this British summer institution No. 1, as it contains it all the needed ingredients for a British Summer:
Strawberries
Lemon or Orange
Fresh Mint
and even Cucumber (without the sandwiches)…
And it is based on good ol’ Gin and colonial Quinine, how can all of this not be good for you on a sunny day?

It drinks like lemonade and allows you to play all kinds of games with the remaining fruit in your glass in case you are losing interest in conversation… (another brilliant asset when you find yourself at a garden party…)

This is certainly one of the things I will take with me to the States, where off course it will get heavy competition from the Newportian ‘Dark ‘n Stormy’…Which in itself is a less sophisticated mix of ginger beer and dark rum on ice. Nothing to pick at here…

However yesterday, instead of succumbing to a jug of PIMMS I decided to experiment for myself. I will be having a leaving party soon and I am planning to make a special Punch to tie together both drinking traditions. It took the best part of the afternoon to get the mixture right, but in the end I think I got it.

In the end I came up with this pale golden and blushingly pretty Bellevue Punch:

James and the Giant Peach?

2 parts Soda water
1 part Fiery Ginger Ale or Beer (use the least sweet and alcoholic kind)
1 good slug of Elderflower Cordial
1 great dash of Créme de Pêche de Vigne (you can use peach schnapps but it is usually too harsh and artificial)
Slices of fresh White Peach
Fresh Mint leaves
A big grin
Lots of ice…

This summer is going to be great!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

