Skip to content

Cultural Concubine Blog

Neither here nor there…

Great but pale...

Today has been a glorious sunny day, which I spent sitting in the park with a good book, a bottle and some nibbles.

Life in Britain can be brilliant sometimes!

The very best about this really is, that in this country I am not the palest one…
I still remember clearly how after every summer break my classmates would flock around me to compare their tans with mine. I was always the easiest win in the class, wherever we had been on holiday…

British summer in one day...

But here in Britain I am averagely pale. How brilliant.
Regretfully I have gotten used to it so today I was overconfident… Surely the sun in this country can’t be strong enough to burn me, right?

Well, wrong…

More is better...

I now have two solidly burned back legs, so now I am back to my childhood hobby of slapping on after-sun gel, yoghurt, cucumber, whatever it takes…

Tomorrow it is back to the old regime of 10 layers of 30 SPF sunscreen a day. As we say in Dutch: ‘Mooi wit is niet lelijk’ (transl.: great white is not ugly)

In recent years more and more young Brits have started to follow the international trend to become brown/orange. These kids are doing whatever it takes to get the right shade, so apart from slapping on fake tan, tanning salons filled with sun beds have become a daily routine for many.
In order to stop this, one of the ‘Girls Aloud’ has started a campagne showing the real dangers of this hobby.

Oh no wait, she was trying to sell her new make-up.

Oh what will await me in the States…

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

