Skip to content

Cultural Concubine Blog

Neither here nor there…

Herons > Pigeons

During my walk home today I ran into a surprising sight…

A large group of over 20 herons stood around quietly on the lawn in the park.
When on land these birds really resemble old skinny men in tatty grey rain coats, hunched together against the rain…
Only once they start their stretched gait on stilts do they turn back into actual predators…

Anti-social cousins...

When I was small my neighbour told me that herons were of the anti-social persuasion. No heron would land if it saw a fellow perched on the edge of a pond…
So how is it possible to find 20 of them in a clump in the heart of the city?

Apparently the heronry of Regent’s park is well-known and the largest urban community of herons in a city in the world.

Grey squirrels next time...

Haha, these long faced felons sure make the pigeons pale in comparison. If a pigeon is a flying rat, what does that make a heron?

Oh London, you never cease to amaze me…

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

