Skip to content

Cultural Concubine Blog

Neither here nor there…

Dutch rider...

One of the things I only started to appreciate after leaving Holland for four years was the fact I could get around everywhere with a bicycle.

I have never dared to cycle in London. My first impression of cyclists here is still fresh in my memory… Why are all the roadworkers cycling in this town? It really took me a while to understand that helmets, brigt coloured vests, tights and backpacks are the kit for the casual cyclist…

A Royal ride indeed...

Back in Amsterdam, I really didnt think much of this way of life… It was just the most normal thing to do in the Flatlands… But oh how I now long back to a nice ride on an old sturdy Gazelle bike. With its large weels, back pedal breaks, no gears and plenty of storage in the side bags, you will never have a more relaxed ride.

Hmm lets see if Cambridge is a bycicle friendly town.

And off course I haven’t even mentioned the weather…

Tags: , , , , ,

